Bucks News · Fall 2020 Athletic Department Updates & Information


Buckeye Parents and Student-athletes,

I hope this email finds you well.  I want to begin by thanking all of our students and parents for your understanding and flexibility throughout the spring and summer. I also want to applaud our students, coaches, and athletic trainer for restarting athletics safely and responsibly. Athletic participation on our campus is still limited to grades 9-12 for the remainder of July. 

 

The purpose of this email is to help you organize and prepare for your child’s 2020-21 fall sport.  Based on our most recent communication with the OHSAA, we are going to move forward as if sports will begin on August 1. Remember, things may change, and if/when they do we will communicate accordingly.  Please take a moment to review the important information below and feel free to contact me or Marian Kashou with any questions. 


  1. Start Dates

    Here are the start dates for each sport.

    https://ohsaa.org/calendar/FutureDates

  2. Physical

    All student-athletes must have an updated physical.  Physical forms can be found in the athletic office and junior high office.  They can also be found on the final forms website.  Student-athletes cannot practice or attend tryouts without a current physical.  The first official date for tryouts/practice is August 1.

    Link- https://ohsaa.org/Portals/0/Sports-Medicine/PPE_2020-21.pdf

  3. Final Forms

    Be sure to add the fall sport in which your child participates. Also, please update parent and student signatures.  This must be completed by the first day of practice.  Here is a link with important information about Final Forms.

    http://s3.amazonaws.com/vnn-aws-sites/1581/files/2015/08/47318c5b4a3820eb-FF_ParentPlaybook-Buckeye1.pdf

 

  1. IMPACT Concussion Testing

 

Due to COVID19, at this time we are unable to perform in-person mass concussion testing at the school.  Please log on to Final Forms to see if you are a student-athlete that needs concussion testing prior to August 1st. Testing is required for all incoming Freshmen and Juniors.  If you have sustained a concussion in the last year, had invalid test results, or are a new athlete and/or transfer student, you will be included as well.  Please check your Final Forms to be certain of your status.

 

You can access the directions to the concussion test under the tab “ImPACT Testing Consent”.  Please finish the test and provide a confirmation code in the field provided.  Please note that a parent will need to login and add the Confirmation Code to the ImPACT Testing Consent Form before the student will be allowed to sign.  

 

Please feel free to reach out to Chelsea Kuntz at ckuntz@buckeyeschools.org with any questions.

 

  1. Transfer Students

    Any student who transferred to Buckeye from another high school must contact the Athletic Director to set up an appointment to complete all necessary paperwork before the student-athlete can participate.  A student who enters Buckeye at the beginning of 9th grade is not considered at transfer.

    6. Pay-to-Participate Information

 

Pay-to-Participate Fees, 2020-21


  1. Team/Individual Picture Information

 

-Team and individual pictures will take place on Wednesday, August 19.  Specific team schedules will be communicated as we move closer to the date.

8. Meet the Team/OHSAA Mandatory Fall Sports Meeting

-This will most likely be online for the fall. We are waiting for guidance from the OHSAA about to conduct our preseason meetings.  As soon as we have any information, it will be communicated to you.

 



  1. High School Coach’s Contact Information

    Cheerleading- Melissa Siedlecki, msiedlecki@buckeyeschools.org
    Football- Greg Dennison, gdennison@buckeyeschools.org
    Girls Soccer- Derrick Gullen, dgullen@buckeyeschools.org
    Boys Soccer- Andrew Coccia, acoccia@buckeyeschools.org
    Band- Greg King, gking@buckeyeschools.org
    Volleyball- Kara Joyce, kjoyce@buckeyeschools.org
    Cross Country- Renee Harden, rharden@buckeyeschools.org

Golf- Shane Hotchkiss, shotchkiss@buckeyeschools.org

 

  1. Junior High Coach’s Contact Information

    Cheerleading- Alexis Tecco, atecco@buckeyeschools.org
    Football- Howie Calame, hcalame@buckeyeschools.org
    Volleyball- Janeen Calame, jcalame@buckeyeschools.org
    Cross Country- Ruth Casada, rcasada@buckeyeschools.org.

 

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Athletic Department at 330-722-8257.

Tom Harrington, tharrington@buckeyeschools.org, Athletic Director, ext. 3053

Marian Kashou, mkashou@buckeyeschools.org, Athletic Secretary, ext. 3054


Go Bucks!

Thank you,

 

Tom Harrington

Athletic Director